A speech to those like me

I want this to really sink in and resonate within your soul. If you were to use your phone for the average 4 hours or more and presumably live to 80 years old that would basically equate to 9 years you spent basically doing nothing.

So I come to you to tell my generation, gen Z the importance of chasing more valuable pleasures. I’d even suggest that when  you chase these more difficult Pleasures it’s like it’s a modern day cheat code, in our world as of now 2023 there is almost infinite cheap enjoyment that you can be roped into, Especially in 1st world countries. Convenience as I see it and very much is very much more of a positive benefit but It can end up just doing way more harm than we really can comprehend. And so with all this convenience we will have shifted the values of the entire country to be more to a market on which values and preys on your attention and that promotes mindless mass consumption. So what  it means over time technology will get better and these algorithms which are going to be so good to just be able to keep your minds hostage it’s just truly, truly very terrifying.

So when we put all the factors together of having this market of attention that is constantly trying to entice and grab you from all different angles as well as all this convenience we have this mix  which creates very very low levels of mindfulness which is a huge problem. I mean what will the cornerstones of life even look like if we’re all so hyper stimulated all the time to the point that we need just more and more and more? That is a question though for another day. So I talking about this illustrious sort of higher pleasures but I haven’t really got into that yet and in a sense exactly what. These activities are just things that you can do that are going to cultivate and that I’m going to further benefit you both now and in the future so these Pleasures are generally speaking longer lasting.  The true difference between both these types of pleasure  is in fact the The lingering effects that It’ll have in your life and the benefits that come with it see when there’s a clear difference between let’s say making a new friend during lunch vs hitting your vape in the bathroom. While the vape may require less effort and time and will be less awkward the new person you met could possibly be your new best friend for life and you didn’t even bat an eye.

I want to tell you about a small-ish personal time within my life. It was a very dark point in my life as well. I was desperate for these lowly pleasures and I specifically refer to outside validation. I am fully aware this  comes off as shocking but i can further explain. This is the least known low value pleasure that ever exists and it has been riddled in our perceptions with social circles. Our nature inherently relies upon the uplifting said from others. Most evident example can be relationships. I’ve very much seen people who are always in relationships. I stand in both envy and in disappointment as I fully understand the true problems within this situation. As in people use relationships to cope which inherently makes them lose their value.

As a call to action in your communities, schools, jobs and friend groups I end off with this, do you want to get the 9 years of your life back? Or to stay forever stagnant, stubborn to grow?

Leave a comment

Letters on a page?

¿sǝɹnʇɔᴉd uǝʇʇᴉɹʍ ʎǝɥʇ ǝɹɐ ɹo

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started